Ereignishorizont
offlineLNSwitch

offlineLNSwitch

A bitcoinSwitch without an internet connection

The offline⚡️Switch

The offline⚡️Switch is a bitcoinSwitch based on a microcontroller board with ESP32 and user-friendly touch display interface. The special thing about the offline⚡️Switch is that it does not require an internet connection—the microcontroller does not need WLAN or any connection to the internet/server to receive a bitcoin lightning payment. Only the bitcoin lightning payer needs the internet connection. The payer scans the offline⚡️Switch’s QR code with his wallet, sends bitcoin over lightning, and with the send confirmation the payer’s wallet receives a response with a URL link. Selecting the link opens a browser and displays a page with a "secret" in the form of a four-digit PIN. The payer enters this PIN via the offline⚡️Switch touch display, and if the PIN matches, the offline⚡️Switch carries out the desired function. Et voilà! Add a power source such as an outlet or a battery and offline⚡️Switch can operate anywhere.

Demo Video
Further..

Besides the "offline" function, another advantage is the possibility of displaying an individual QR code and entering data via the panel. Once the ESP32 is flashed with the firmware via a web page all other data is entered via the bitcoinSwitch touch display. This simplifies setup and maintenance as one does not need a computer or mobile phone to make updates. A user-defined PIN for access to the configuration menu is sufficient.

Offline⚡️Switch components are inexpensive, compact and the software is free of charge. No wild wiring between ESP32, display and keyboard. For less than 20 Euro you have a simple and undemanding "vending machine" and the sats are managed on an LNbits server. You can operate the system via the offlie⚡️Switch touch display to update the wallet or product data instantaneously. In short, application possibilities are manifold and the offline⚡️Switch can be installed anywhere you want an automated bitcoin payment device.

Offline⚡️Switch is designed to be very user friendly. Additional information about the offline⚡️Switch and test functionality is accessed via the offline⚡️Switch setup page, found by pressing the info ‘ℹ️’ button on the display. Test payments with with minimum possible costs can also be carried out. Offline⚡️Switch also provides visual cues when operating — the onscreen button changes from orange to green for a few seconds when the switch is activated, useful for testing before downstream equipment is attached. The info page provides the firmware ID so that you always know which version is installed. Lastly, offline⚡️Switch provides a QR code on the Info ‘ℹ️’ page which leads to this website for more information.

Rod data images of the surface:

1. The hardware

You need a Sunton 3.5" Smart Display, type ESP32-3248S035, e.g. from AliExpress. There are currently two versions available. The one with "resistive" touch and "capacitive" touch screen. In principle you can use both, but the capacitive touch display is a bit more robust and therefore I would also recommend that. Furthermore you need a 5V relay (High-Level-Triggered). E.g. this design.

The ESP32 itself can be connected and powered via the micro USB (5V) connection. The relay, can be connected directly with the supplied cable. Usually the 5V relays have three connections. Supply (5V), Ground (GND) and Signal (Sig). The Sunton ESP32 supplies only 3.3V, but for most relays this should be enough. Connect 3.3V (red), GND (black) and the signal IO21 (yellow) as shown in the picture. The blue line for IO22 remains unused here.

2. The software

You can easily flash the firmware via this Webinstaller for the offline⚡️Switch. You can choose the version you want to flash. Mostly it is the last version. Older or other versions can be selected from the drop-down menu. The version number is composed of the "block time" (the Bitcoin block height, when the version was created) and the appendix "c" for Capacitive or "r" for Resistive Touch. Followed by a designation, for better identification, which is extra arbitrary. At the bottom of the web installer web page you will also find a version hist

Run of the Flash process:

  • Open the offline⚡️Switch Webinstaller page.
  • Connect the EPS32 to your computer via USB cable.
  • Check the required version and select Flash.
  • A connection window will open where you have to select the ‘COM port’ for the ESP32 and then click on ‘Connect’.
  • Now you see the Device Dashboard and select INSTALL OFFLINELNSWITCH.
  • When flashing for the first time, activate Erase Device and then click on NEXT.
  • Check the selected version once and press INSTALL.
  • Now comes: Preparing installation… Erasing… Installing… Wrapping up… Installation complete!
  • That’s it, the ESP32 has been written with the firmware and is ready for use. 🎉

Help if it didn’t work:.

  • First try a browser refresh (F5). Often this helps to reinitialize the communication.
  • If it still does not work, then reconnect the ESP32 and refresh again.
  • If the connection problem persists, it could be due to a bad USB cable, replace it!
  • If you get the message that the interface is already in use, then you may have opened a second window or another program that is already using the interface. Close all unnecessary applications.
  • If you still have communication problems, then a driver update for the communication chip CH340C might be necessary. Follow this link for Windows or this one for MAC.
  • For Linux devices, you may need to add the current user to the "dialout" group: $ sudo usermod -aG dialout $USER and $ sudo chmod 666 /dev/ttyXXXX.
  • In very rare cases, the operating system simply refuses to cooperate. Then try it with another computer.

Another hint

After clicking the button Flash, you will also find the function LOGS & CONSOLE in the Device Dashboard. If your ESP32 is connected correctly and you press Reset once, you will see feedback from the ESP32. There you will also see certain program sequences and values. It is quite useful for debugging.

3. The LNbits wallet

The offline⚡️Switch needs an (online) Lightning Wallet (server) in the background with which the client can interact. For this we use LNbits. LNbits is Bitcoin Lightning Wallet and Account System, with many options, in the form of extensions that you can install. LNbits is Free and Open Source software. Anyone can set up their own LNbits server, but it is still technically quite challenging. The functions of LNbits can be tested with the free demo server legend.lnbits.com. So we also use the demo server in this example.

Set up wallet:

  • Go to the legend.lnbits.com page.
  • Choose a name for your wallet and then click ADD A NEW WALLET.
  • Now please save the website link of the wallet as a favorite in your browser, or better yet, additionally copy and save it as text somewhere. This is your access to the Wallet. There is no username and password or similar, so watch out for the link.
  • Click on Extensions and search for "LNURLevice".
  • Activate the extension with ENABLE.
  • Now you will find LNURLDevice on the left side under Extensions. Please select this once.
  • Click on NEW LNURLDEVICE INSTANCE to create an instance for your offline⚡️Switch.
  • Give it a title (it will be displayed during the payment process), choose which wallet you want to use (if you have more than one) and select the fiat currency.
  • The function we need is PoS and already preset.
  • Profit margin is still set to "0" so that the payer doesn’t pay extra fees and then press CREATE LNURLDEVICE once.

Now you see in the line under LNURLDevice, to the right of the title, the id and the key. These are the wallet data that you need for the offline⚡️Switch. Add the chosen fiat currency, here e.g. "EUR" and the host server that manages your wallet. Here e.g. "legend.lnbits.com" for the LNbits Host. Now you are ready for the parameterization of the ESP32. ⚙️

4. Set up the offline⚡️Switch

For the input of the data, it needs due to the size of it panel, some fingertip feeling, but is otherwise very simple.

Connect your offline⚡️Switch to a power supply and follow these instructions:

  • Select the gear icon at the bottom left ⚙️ The default PIN is 123456.
  • On the page Setup up config you enter the wallet data:
  • LNbitsHost = e.g. legend.lnbits.com
  • DeviceID = e.g. 7vDYV
  • DeviceKey = e.g. 3v9i65KL36yhtw2xCNwD8k
  • Currency = e.g. 0.21 (Attention: dot as decimal separator)
  • You can also set a personal ConfigPIN here.
  • Under Set up Switch you can set up the product and the relay:
  • Name = Product name, will be shown at the QR-Code
  • Price = Price of the product
  • Time = Time in ms the relay should switch. E.G. 3000
  • GPIO = Output which should be controlled. Default: 21
  • Energy Mode = 0 = OFF, 1 Software Deep Sleep, 2 Hardware Time Relay. See documentation in the appendix!
  • Then there is the switch Toggle Switch. This can be used to control the relay manually or to invert the signal.
  • Back to the Config menu with the button Config.
  • Check the settings once and select Save+Exit.

Finished the offline⚡️Switch, it is now ready for use. 🎉

Note: There are at least three classic error possibilities that give different messages depending on the wallet used:

  1. the error message "Failed to decode invoice, please try again." or "LNURL service has an error" indicates that the LNbitsHost is not correct.
  2. comes "HAMAC is invalid" or "LNURL service has an error", then maybe the wallet key is not correct.
  3. if you get the error "lnurldevice xyz not found…" or "LNURL service has an error", then you most likely have misspelled the wallet ID.

The characters have their pitfalls. Check all the data again very meticulously character by character. 🔍🧐

5. Compatible wallets

All Lightning⚡️Wallets that use LUD-09 of the LNURL-specification also support the feature to display a text/URL after payment. This is now the vast majority.

An overview of the tested wallets:

BitBanana / Blixt / Breez / LNbits / LightningTipBot / Phoenix / Wallet of Satoshi / Zeus / BlueWallet with Alby LNDHub

Where it is known not to work yet: Blink -> Feature Request #2660 opened.

On some the link is very well displayed and on others it can be a bit hidden. With some wallets (Breez, Blixt, BlueWallet/Alby, LNbits, LightningTipBot, Phoenix, WoS) there is a possibility to display the link afterwards. For some wallets (BitBanana, Zeus,..) unfortunately not yet, but for this there are issues and feature requests 😉

6. Supplement

The option shown here (Webinstaller), to describe the ESP32, is a possibility that is very user-friendly. However, the software is FOSS, that is Free and Open Source Software. Therefore, for the "savvy" user, there is also the possibility to check the software beforehand. According to the motto: Don’t trust, verify.

The whole project is available on Github. You can copy it, edit it or whatever. As development environment (Integrated Development Environment) I would recommend PlatformIO on VSCode. As a graphical user interface LVGL (Light and Versatile Embedded Graphics Library) was used and mostly created by the application SquareLine Studio.

Still mentioned its two great projects that were instrumental in helping me come up with the idea and from which I used parts for this project. One is the BliksemBier from Pieter and the bitcoinVend from Ben Arc. 🙏 Without them the offline⚡️Switch wouldn’t exist yet.

Here is another example of a type application case, a newspaper vending machine. The prototype is being built. They stand freely at e.g. gas stations and are filled and emptied once a week. So the battery has to last a week. They should soon work with Lightning ⚡️ Sats 丰 in addition to "Quarters". 🔥 This would be the first time in the decades-long history of newspaper vending machines. 🏅

Here is a news article about the offline⚡️Switch in the local newspaper – The Chronicle – in the northwest of the USA. (web.archive.org)
Since March 16th, 2024, Wikipedia “newspaper machine” has been the first to mention Bitcoin Lightning as a payment method.

You can find further examples here, here and here.

7. Appendix: Deep Sleep or Shutdown

The offline⚡️Switch is particularly suitable for being operated autonomously using a battery. Unfortunately, the backlit display consumes quite a lot of energy. In one measurement I measured about 0.85 watts and 170 mA at 5V for a simple system with relays. Of course, sooner or later this forces every battery to fail or consumes electricity unnecessarily. In order to still be able to operate the offline⚡️Switch well, I have implemented various options for saving energy. Deep sleep mode is recommended for power supply operation, i.e. with a continuous power supply. For battery operation, you can dig deeper into your bag of tricks and switch off the supply voltage with a time relay to minimize power consumption. However, you should pay attention to battery protection.

Deep Sleep Mode

By the software implementation of the Deep Sleep Mode the display and large parts of the Sunton ESP32 are switched off. The ESP32 then only runs in maintenance mode with low power consumption. It can be reactivated via the external push button. However, the time until shutdown can also be reset by a "page change". This ensures that the ESP32 does not go into deep sleep mode when it is being operated. Thus, the unit is not used for at least 5 minutes before the system enters Deep Sleep mode. In Deep Sleep mode, the system only needs one fifth of the power. It varies a bit, but roughly I measured 0.17 watts and 30 mA. To wake the Sunton ESP32 from Deep Sleep, or to retrigger the time before, an external pushbutton must be connected to the GPIO 35 input as a "normally open" switch, with a pull-down resistor of about 10 kOhm. Without this it does not work (❗️), because the inputs of the ESP32 are very sensitive to interference and need a reference point. Otherwise you have undefined states and the input switches back and forth. Deep sleep mode is the best alternative to operating the offline⚡️Switch on a power supply.

Shutdown via time relay

The second option is an external hardware time relay. This has the advantage that the quiescent current can be reduced even further. According to the data sheet it should be 0.025 watts and 5 mA, I even measured only 4 mA. So in sleep mode it only uses one-thirtieth. The time relay can be "triggered" once using the button, but is also retriggered via output GPIO 22 when the display changes pages. Of course, it must also be mentioned that the time relay also consumes power when switched. However, it will still pay off quickly because the system can be switched off after, for example, 3-5 minutes and is inactive for significantly more time than active. The additional relay for retriggering also consumes a few mA per pulse. However, this is negligible as it is only switched on for a short pulse. All in all, this is probably the most energy-saving solution to allow the system to be powered by a battery for as long as possible.

Battery protection / undervoltage release

Batteries have a voltage range in which they can work optimally. Batteries that are loaded beyond their performance limit can be irreversibly damaged. Since we are using a power supply or a step-down converter and the downstream voltage is lower than the supply voltage, there is a risk of putting too much strain on the battery. To prevent this, it makes sense to install an undervoltage release between the battery and the time relay. This can set a hysteresis, for example: switching on at 12.1V and switching off at 11.5V. Good, fully charged car batteries usually have more than 12.3V. Discharged and heavily loaded batteries show less than 12V and can drop significantly. If they are subjected to further loads below 10V, they can even be damaged. Therefore, reliable load disconnection is crucial. Only when the battery is replaced or recharged will the voltage be released again. Unfortunately, the consumption is not exactly small at 0.44 watts (cheap measuring device!!). Since this is a protective circuit, we can’t get around it. Unless we use a battery or something similar that protects itself, for example a USB power pack.

The components

Time relay (1): Make Hilitand, Type Yosoo-1322, ASIN B01N6QGSRK. You can get it e.g. from Amazon. With jumper bridges for range selection and a potentiometer the adjustment is really easy. You can find the double relay (2) e.g. here. Unfortunately only one of the small 4-pin connectors is included. If you want to order some, they are called JST 1.25 MM 4 pins. Undervoltage release (3) as battery protection: Amazon oder AliExpress. Power supply or step-down converter (4): Amazon / AliExpress. The power supply for setting the undervoltage release (5): Amazon / AliExpress. Alternative step-down converter with integrated display for checking (6): Amazon / AliExpress. The module can be used to check the battery voltage and display and set the output voltage (turn the potentiometer to the left for less than 12V). The display can also be switched off with the button. Note the polarity of the battery!

Images and graphics for illustrative purposes:

Demonstration box: Battery operated, switches LED chain. With undervoltage release and power supply for setting:


Erstellt mit Liebe 🧡 Seit 808011 / 838898

– Lightning ⚡ (er)leben –

Lightning address for donations
axelhamburch@ereignishorizont.xyz

Ereignishorizont
offlineLNSwitch

offlineLNSwitch

Der bitcoinSwitch der auch offline funktioniert

Der offline⚡️Switch

Der offline⚡️Switch ist ein bitcoinSwitch, basierend auf ein Mikrocontroller Board mit ESP32 und Touch Display. Durch das Touch-Display erhält man eine benutzerfreundliche Oberfläche als Schnittstelle, mit der man interagieren kann. Das besondere an diesem offline⚡️Switch ist, dass er selbst keine Internetverbindung benötigt. Der Mikrocontroller benötigt kein WLAN, bzw. keine Verbindung mit dem Internet/Server. Nur der Kunde, der den angezeigten QR-Code mit seinem Wallet scannt, der muss sich mit dem Zahlungsserver in Verbindung setzen. Nach erfolgreicher Zahlung, bekommt der Zahlende in seinem Wallet einen Link angezeigt. Folgt er diesem Link, dann öffnet sich der Browser und zeigt eine Seite mit einem "Geheimnis" in Form einer vierstelligen PIN an. Diese PIN kann er über das Touch-Display eingeben. Stimmt die PIN überein, dann schaltet der ESP32 die gewünscht Funktion bzw. das Relais. Et voilà! Dieser bitcoinSwitch kann damit überall stehen und die Voraussetzungen ist Spannungsversorgung, sonst nichts.

Demo Video
Weiteres..

Neben der "offline" Funktion ist ein weiterer Vorteil die Möglichkeit, dass Anzeigen eines individuellen QR-Codes und der Dateneingabe über das Panel. Der ESP32 muss nur einmal mit der Firmware über eine Webseite beschrieben werden, danach kann man alle weiteren Daten über das Touch-Display eingeben. Das vereinfacht die Handhabung und man ist sehr flexibel, da man keinen Computer oder Handy benötigt, um Änderungen vorzunehmen. Eine PIN für den Zugang zum Konfigurationsmenü reicht aus.

Die ganze Komponenten sind dazu noch sehr günstig, kompakt und die Software zudem kostenlos. Keine wilden Verdrahtungen zwischen ESP32, Display und Tastatur. Für unter 20 Euro hat man einen einfachen und anspruchslosen "Verkaufsautomaten", bei dem die Sats immer sicher auf dem (LNbits-)Server liegen. Die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten sind vielfältig. Überall dort, wo man mobil sein möchte oder kein ausreichend gutes Wifi/Internet hat. Auch ist man durch das Touch-Display sehr flexibel und kann die Wallet oder Produktdaten in Handumdrehen ändern.

Einen kleinen Herausforderung hat das System allerdings. Der Kunde muss etwas mit dem System interagieren und sollte dazu etwas aufgeklärt werden. Er findet dazu auf dem Display einen Info ℹ️ Button. Auf der Seite bekommt er dann eine Information über die Funktion und die Möglichkeit, dass ganze einmal testweise durchzuspielen. Er kann eine Testzahlung mit minimal möglichen Kosten durchführen. Z.B. mit 1 Cent oder 1 Sat. Der Anwender sieht zur Bestätigung den Button, der für ein paar Sekunden von orange auf grün wechselt.

Neben der kurzen Erklärung befindet sich auf der Seite Info ℹ️ auch ein QR-Code, der zu dieser Seite führt. Und damit man immer weiß, welche Version man eigentlich hat, wird noch die Firmware Version angezeigt.

Roddatenbilder der Oberfläche:

1. Die Hardware

Man benötigt ein Sunton 3.5" Smart Display, Typ ESP32-3248S035, z.B. von AliExpress. Davon gibt es derzeit zwei Versionen. Das mit "Resistive" Touch und "Capacitive" Touch Screen. Im Prinzip kann man beide verwenden, das kapazitive Touch Display ist aber etwas robuster und deswegen würde ich auch das empfehlen. Des Weiteren braucht es noch ein 5V Relais (High-Level-Triggered). Z.B. diese Bauform.

Der ESP32 selbst kann über die Micro USB (5V) Verbindung angeschlossen und versorgt werden. Das Relais kann mit dem mitgelieferten Kabel direkt verbunden werden. Üblicherweise haben die 5V Relais drei Anschlüsse: Versorgung (5V), Ground (GND) und Signal (Sig). Der Sunton ESP32 liefert zwar nur 3,3V, aber für die meisten Relais sollte das reichen. Angeschlossen wird, wie im Bild gezeigt, 3,3V (rot), GND (schwarz) und das Signal IO21 (gelb). Die blaue Leitung für IO22 bleibt hier ungenutzt.

2. Die Software

Das Flashen der Firmware könnt ihr ganz einfach über diesen Webinstaller für den offline⚡️Switch machen. Ihr könnt dort die Version aussuchen, die ihr flashen möchtet. Meistens ist es die letzte Version. Ältere oder andere Versionen können aus dem Drop-Down Menü ausgewählt werden. Die Versionsnummer setzt sich aus der "Blockzeit" (die Bitcoin Blockhöhe, als die Version erstellt wurde) und dem Anhang "c" für Capacitive oder "r" für Resistive Touch zusammen. Gefolgt von einer Bezeichnung, zur besseren Identifizierung, die extra willkürlich ist. Unten auf der Webseite des Webinstallers findet ihr auch eine Versionshistorie.

Ablauf des Flash Prozesses:

  • Öffnet die offline⚡️Switch Webinstaller Seite.
  • Verbindet den EPS32 mit eurem Computer per USB Kabel.
  • Kontrolliert die benötigte Version und wählt dann Flash.
  • Ein Verbindungsfenster wird sich öffnen, in dem ihr die COM-Schnittstelle für den ESP32 auswählen müsst und dann auf Verbinden klickt.
  • Jetzt seht ihr das Device Dashboard und wählt INSTALL OFFLINELNSWITCH.
  • Beim erstmaligen Flash-Vorgang aktiviert ihr noch Erase Device und geht dann auf NEXT.
  • Die ausgewählte Version einmal überprüfen und dann INSTALL drücken.
  • Jetzt kommt: Preparing installation… Erasing… Installing… Wrapping up… Installation complete!
  • Der ESP32 wurde mit der Firmware beschrieben und ist einsatzbereit. 🎉

Hilfe, falls es nicht geklappt hat:

  • Versucht zuerst ein Browser Refresh (F5). Oft hilft das schon, die Kommunikation neu zu initialisieren.
  • Klappt es immer noch nicht, dann verbindet den ESP32 neu und refreshed noch einmal.
  • Bleibt das Verbindungsproblem bestehen, könnte es an einem schlechten USB Kabel liegen, tauscht es!
  • Bekommt ihr die Meldung, dass die Schnittstelle bereits verwendet wird, dann habt ihr evtl. ein zweites Fenster oder ein anderes Programm geöffnet, welches die Schnittstelle schon verwendet. Schließt alle nicht benötigten Anwendungen.
  • Habt ihr immer noch Kommunikationsprobleme, dann könnte ein Treiber-Update für den Kommunikationschip CH340C notwendig sein. Folgt diesem Link für Windows oder diesen für MAC.
  • Bei Linux-Geräte, müsst ihr für die Verbindung ggf. den aktuellen Benutzer noch zur Gruppe "dialout" hinzufügen: $ sudo usermod -aG dialout $USER und $ sudo chmod 666 /dev/ttyXXXX.
  • In ganz seltenen Fällen verweigert das Betriebssystem aber auch einfach die Zusammarbeit. Dann versucht es mit einem anderen Rechner.

Noch ein Hinweis:

Nach dem klicken des Button Flash findet ihr im Device Dashboard auch die Funktion LOGS & CONSOLE. Wenn euer ESP32 korrekt verbunden ist und ihr dann einmal auf Reset drückt, dann seht ihr Rückmeldungen vom ESP32. Dort werden auch bestimmte Programmabläufe und Werte angezeigt. Es ist ganz nützlich zum debuggen, also zur Fehlersuche.

3. Das LNbits Wallet

Der offline⚡️Switch benötigt ein (online) Lightning Wallet (Server) im Hintergrund, mit dem der Kunde interagieren kann. Dafür verwenden wir LNbits. LNbits ist ein Bitcoin Lightning Wallet und Account System, mit vielen Optionen in Form von Erweiterungen, die man installieren kann. LNbits ist eine Free and Open Source Software. Jeder kann selbst einen LNbits Server aufsetzen. Allerdings ist das technisch noch recht anspruchsvoll. Die Funktionen von LNbits können aber auch jetzt schon mit den freien Demo Server legend.lnbits.com getestet werden. So verwenden wir auch in diesem Beispiel den Demo Server.

Wallet einrichten:

  • Geht auf die Seite legend.lnbits.com.
  • Wählt einen Namen für euer Wallet aus und klickt dann ADD A NEW WALLET.
  • Jetzt bitte den Webseitenlink des Wallets als Favorit im Browser abspeichern, oder besser noch, zusätzlich kopieren und als Text irgendwo sichern. Das ist euer Zugang zu dem Wallet! Es gibt kein Benutzername und Passwort oder Ähnliches. Passt also auf den Link auf.
  • Klickt auf Extensions und sucht nach "LNURLevice".
  • Aktiviert die Erweiterung mit ENABLE.
  • Jetzt findet ihr links unter Extensions LNURLDevice. Das bitte einmal anwählen.
  • Klickt auf NEW LNURLDEVICE INSTANCE, um eine Instanz für euren offline⚡️Switch anzulegen.
  • Vergebt einen Titel (der wird beim Zahlungsvorgang angezeigt). Wählt welches Wallet ihr verwenden wollt (falls ihr mehrere habt) und dann noch die Fiat Währung.
  • Die Funktion die wir brauchen, ist PoS und bereits voreingestellt.
  • Profit margin noch auf "0" setzen, damit der Zahlende keine extra Gebühren zahlen muss und drückt dann einmal CREATE LNURLDEVICE.

Jetzt seht ihr in der Zeile unter LNURLDevice, rechts neben dem Titel, die id und den key. Das sind die Wallet Daten, die ihr für den offline⚡️Switch benötigt. Hinzu kommt noch die gewählt Fiat Währung, hier z.B. "EUR" und den Host Server der euer Wallet verwaltet. Hier z.B. "legend.lnbits.com" für den LNbits Host. Jetzt seid ihr bereit für die Parametrierung des ESP32. ⚙️

4. Den offline⚡️Switch einrichten

Für die Eingabe der Daten braucht es auf Grund der Größe des Panels, etwas Fingerspitzengefühl, ist aber ansonsten sehr einfach.

Schließt euren offline⚡️Switch an eine Spannungsversorgung an und folgt dieser Anleitung:

  • Wählt unten links das Zahnradsymbol ⚙️ Die Standard PIN lautet 123456.
  • Auf der Seite Setup up config gebt ihr die Daten zum Wallet ein:
  • LNbitsHost = z.B. legend.lnbits.com
  • DeviceID = z.B. 7vDYV
  • DeviceKey = z.B. 3v9i65KL36yhtw2xCNwD8k
  • Currency = z.B. 0.21 (Achtung: Punkt als Dezimaltrennzeichen)
  • Eine persönliche ConfigPIN könnt ihr hier auch einstellen.
  • Unter Set up Switch könnt ihr das Produkt und das Relais einrichten:
  • Name = Produkt Name, wird beim QR-Code angezeigt
  • Price = Preis des Produkts
  • Time = Zeit in ms, die das Relais schalten soll. Z.B. 3000
  • GPIO = Ausgang der angesteuert werden soll. Standard: 21
  • Energy Mode = 0 = AUS, 1 Software Deep Sleep, 2 Hardware Zeitrelais. Siehe Dokumentation im Anhang!
  • Dann gibt es noch den Schalter Toggle Switch. Der kann dazu verwendet werden, das Relais manuell anzusteuern oder das Signal zu invertieren.
  • Zurück zum Config Menü mit dem Button Config
  • Prüft die Einstellungen einmal und wählt dann Save+Exit

Fertig ist der offline⚡️Switch, er ist jetzt einsatzbereit. 🔥⚙️

Hinweis: Es gibt mindestens drei klassische Fehlermöglichkeiten die abhängig vom verwendeten Wallet verschiedene Meldungen ausgeben:

  1. Die Fehlermeldung "Failed to decode invoice, please try again." oder "LNURL-Dienst hat einen Fehler" deutet darauf hin, dass der LNbitsHost nicht korrekt ist.
  2. Kommt "HAMAC is invalid" oder "LNURL-Dienst hat einen Fehler", dann ist vielleicht der Wallet Key nicht korrekt.
  3. Bekommt ihr den Fehler "lnurldevice xyz not found.." oder "LNURL-Dienst hat einen Fehler", dann habt ihr sehr wahrscheinlich die Wallet ID falsch geschrieben.

Die Zeichen haben so ihre Tücken. Überprüft alle Daten noch einmal sehr akribisch Zeichen für Zeichen. 🔍🧐

5. Kompatible Wallets

Alle Lightning⚡️Wallets, die LUD-09 der LNURL-Spezifikation verwenden unterstützen auch die Funktion, nach der Zahlung einen Text/Link anzuzeigen. Das ist mittlerweile die überwiegende Mehrheit.

Eine Übersicht der getesteten Wallets:

BitBanana / Blixt / Breez / LNbits / LightningTipBot / Phoenix / Wallet of Satoshi / Zeus / BlueWallet mit Alby LNDHub

Wo es bekanntlich noch nicht geht: Blink -> Feature Request #2660 eröffnet

Bei Einigen wird der Link sehr gut angezeigt und bei Anderen kann er auch etwas versteckt sein. Bei den Wallets Breez, Blixt, BlueWallet/Alby, LNbits, LightningTipBot, Phoenix und WoS besteht die Möglichkeit, sich den Link im Nachhinein anzeigen zu lassen. Bei den Wallets BitBanana und Zeus leider noch nicht, aber dafür gibt es ja Github Issues und Feature Requests. 😉

6. Ergänzung

Die hier gezeigte Option (Webinstaller), zum Beschreiben des ESP32, ist eine Möglichkeit die sehr benutzerfreundlich ist. Die Software ist allerdings FOSS, also Free and Open Source Software. Deshalb besteht für den "versierten" Anwender auch die Möglichkeit die Software vorher zu prüfen. Ganz nach dem Motto: Don’t trust, verify.

Das ganze Projekt ist auf Github verfügbar. Ihr könnt es kopieren, editieren oder was auch immer. Als Entwicklungsumgebung (Integrated Development Environment) würde ich PlatformIO auf VSCode empfehlen. Als grafische Benutzerschnittstelle wurde LVGL (Light and Versatile Embedded Graphics Library) verwendet und zum größten Teil durch die Anwendung SquareLine Studio erstellt.

Noch zu erwähnen sind zwei großartige Projekte, die mir maßgeblich zu der Idee verholfen haben und von denen ich Teile für diese Projekt verwendet habe. Das ist zum einen der BliksemBier von Pieter und der bitcoinVend von Ben Arc. 🙏 Ohne die gäbe es den offline⚡️Switch jetzt noch nicht.

Hier noch ein Beispiel für einen Typen Anwendungsfalle, ein Zeitungsautomat. Der Prototyp wird gerade gebaut. Sie stehen frei an z.B. Tankstellen und werden einmal die Woche befüllt und entleert. Die Batterie muss also ein Woche halten. Sie sollen bald zusätzlich zu "Quarters" (Vierteldollar), auch mit Lightning ⚡️ Sats 丰 funktionieren. 🔥 Das wäre das erste mal in der jahrzehntelangen Geschichte der Zeitungsautomaten. 🏅

Hier ein News Artikel über den offline⚡️Switch in der Lokalzeitung – The Chronicle – im Nordwesten der USA. (web.archive.org)
Seit dem 8.März 2024 ist unter Wikipedia “Zeitungsautomat” der erste mit Bitcoin Lightning als Zahlungsmethode erwähnt.

Weitere Beispiele findet ihr hier, hier und hier.

7. Anhang: Deep Sleep oder Abschaltung

Der offline⚡️Switch ist besonders gut geeignet, um auch autonom über einen Akku betrieben zu werden. Leider verbraucht das Display mit Hintergrundbeleuchtung recht viel Energie. Bei einer Messung habe ich für ein einfaches System mit Relais etwa 0,85 Watt und 170 mA bei 5V gemessen. Das zwingt natürlich früher oder später jede Batterie in die Knie oder verbraucht unnötig Strom. Um den offline⚡️Switch dennoch gut betreiben zu können, habe ich verschiedene Möglichkeiten zum Energiesparen implementiert. Für den Netzteilbetrieb, also mit kontinuierlicher Spannungsversorgung, wird der Deep Sleep Modus empfohlen. Für den Batteriebetrieb kann man tiefer in die Trickkiste greifen und mit einem Zeitrelais die Versorgungsspannung abschalten, um den Stromverbrauch zu minimieren. Dabei sollte man jedoch auf den Batterieschutz achten.

Deep-Sleep-Modus

Durch die softwareseitige Implementierung des Deep Sleep Modus werden das Display und weite Teile des Sunton ESP32 abgeschaltet. Der ESP32 läuft dann nur noch im Erhaltungsmodus mit geringem Energieverbrauch. Er kann über den externen Taster reaktiviert werden. Die Zeit bis zur Abschaltung kann aber auch durch einen "Seitenwechsel" zurückgesetzt werden. Dadurch ist sichergestellt, dass der ESP32 nicht in den Deep Sleep Modus geht, wenn er gerade bedient wird. Die Einheit wird also mindestens 5 Minuten nicht verwendet, bevor das System in den Deep Sleep Modus wechselt. Im Deep Sleep Modus benötigt das System nur noch ein Fünftel der Leistung. Es schwankt etwas, aber grob gemessen habe ich 0,17 Watt und 30 mA gemessen. Um den Sunton ESP32 aus dem Deep Sleep zu erwecken, oder die Zeit vorher nachzutriggern, muss ein externer Taster als "Schließer" an den Eingang GPIO 35 angeschlossen werden und mit einem Pull-Down Widerstand von ca. 10 kOhm versehen sein. Ohne diesen funktioniert es nicht (❗️), da die Eingänge des ESP32 sehr störempfindlich sind und einen Bezugspunkt benötigen. Ansonsten hat man undefinierte Zustände und der Eingang schaltet hin und her. Der Deep-Sleep-Modus ist die beste Alternative, um den offline⚡️Switch an einem Netzteil zu betreiben.

Abschaltung über Zeitrelais

Die zweite Möglichkeit ist ein externes Hardware-Zeitrelais. Das hat den Vorteil, dass man mit dem Ruhestrom noch weiter herunterkommt. Laut Datenblatt sollten es 0,025 Watt und 5 mA sein, ich habe sogar nur 4 mA gemessen. Im Ruhemodus verbraucht es also nur noch ein Dreißigstel. Das Zeitrelais kann einmal über den Taster "nachgetriggert" werden, wird aber auch über den Ausgang GPIO 22, bei einem Seitenwechsel im Display, nachgetriggert. Natürlich muss auch erwähnt werden, dass das Zeitrelais geschaltet ebenfalls Strom verbraucht. Dennoch wird es sich trotzdem schnell rechnen, weil das System nach z.B. ca. 3-5 Minuten abschaltet werden kann und wesentlich mehr Zeit inaktiv als aktiv ist. Das zusätzliche Relais zum Nachtriggern verbraucht auch nochmals ein kurz ein paar mA pro Impuls. Das ist jedoch zu vernachlässigen, da es nur für einen kurzen Impuls eingeschaltet wird. Alles in allem ist dies wohl die energiesparendste Lösung, um das System möglichst lange durch eine Batterie speisen zu können.

Batterieschutz / Unterspannungsauslöser

Batterien haben einen Spannungsbereich, in dem sie optimal arbeiten können. Batterien, die über ihre Leistungsgrenze hinaus belastet werden, können irreversibel beschädigt werden. Da wir ein Netzteil oder einen Step-Down-Wandler verwenden und die nachgeschaltete Spannung niedriger als die Versorgungsspannung ist, besteht die Gefahr, dass die Batterie zu stark belastet wird. Um dies zu verhindern, ist es sinnvoll, einen Unterspannungsauslöser zwischen Batterie und Zeitrelais zu installieren. Dieser kann eine Hysterese einstellen, zum Beispiel: Einschalten bei 12,1V und Ausschalten bei 11,5V. Gute und voll geladene Autobatterien haben normalerweise mehr als 12,3V. Entladene und stark belastete Batterien zeigen weniger als 12V und können stark abfallen. Bei weiterer Belastung unter 10V können sie sogar Schaden nehmen. Daher ist eine zuverlässige Abschaltung der Last von entscheidender Bedeutung. Erst der Austausch oder das Nachladen der Batterie schaltet die Spannung wieder frei. Leider ist der Verbrauch mit 0,44 Watt (billiges Messgerät !!) nicht gerade klein. Da es sich hier um einen Schutzschaltung handelt, kommen wir allerdings nicht drumherum. Es sei denn, wir nutzen eine Batterie oder ähnliches, die sich selbst schützt, zum Beispiel ein USB-Powerpack.

Die Komponenten

Zeitrelais (1): Fabrikat Hilitand, Typ Yosoo-1322, ASIN B01N6QGSRK. Ihr bekommt es z.B. von Amazon. Mit Jumper-Brücken zur Bereichswahl und einem Potentiometer ist die Einstellung wirklich sehr einfach. Das Doppelrelais (2) findet ihr z.B. hier. Von dem kleinen 4-poligen Steckern wird leider nur einer mitgeliefert. Wer welche nachbestellen möchte, sie heißen JST 1.25 MM 4 pins. Unterspannungsauslöser (3) als Batterieschutz z.B. von Amazon oder AliExpress. Netzteil oder Step-Down-Wandler (4): Amazon / AliExpress. Das Netzteil zum Einstellen des Unterspannungsauslöser (5): Amazon / AliExpress. Alternativer Step-Down-Wandler mit integrierter Anzeige zur Kontrolle (6): Amazon / AliExpress. Mit dem Modul kann man die Batteriespannung kontrollieren und Ausgangsspannung anzeigen und damit einstellen (Poti links drehen für kleiner 12V). Das Display lässt sich auch mit dem Button ausschalten. Polung der Batterie beachten!!

Bilder und Grafiken zur Veranschaulichung:

Demonstrationsbox: Batteriebetrieben, schaltet LED-Kette. Mit Unterspannungsauslöser und Netzteil zur Einstellung:


Erstellt mit Liebe 🧡 Seit 808011 / 838897

– Lightning ⚡ (er)leben –

Lightning address for donations
axelhamburch@ereignishorizont.xyz